Press "Enter" to skip to content

No Bengal District Included In PM Insurance Scheme As State Did Not Share Data: Nirmala Sitharaman

Nirmala Sitharaman was answering a question by Congress chief Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury in Lok Sabha. (File)

New Delhi:

Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman on Saturday mentioned that West Bengal authorities didn’t share information of returning migrant labourers with the Centre and no district of the state might be included as a beneficiary underneath the Pradhan Mantri Garib Kalyan Rozgar Abhiyan (PMGKRA).

She was answering a question by Congress chief Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury in Lok Sabha.

“Prime Minister Narendra Modi initiated PMGKRA for migrant labourers who came back to their villages during the coronavirus-induced lockdown. This scheme was introduced on June 20 this year and will be effective for 125 days,” she mentioned.

The minister mentioned 116 districts unfold throughout six states – Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan are benefiting from this scheme.

“The selection of the districts was made on the basis of the return of at least 25,000 migrant labourers to the concerned districts by May 30,” she mentioned.

“After the launch of PMGKRA, there were demands from Tripura and Chhattisgarh to include more districts but it was not entertained. In the case of West Bengal, there was no data shared by the state government then how could the districts of the state be included in the scheme. The state government also denied entry to the migrant labourers in West Bengal in certain cases,” she added.

The scheme was launched to offer employment alternatives in rural areas for migrant staff.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this: