Press "Enter" to skip to content

Mithun Chakraborty Missing From BJP’s Final List



Bengal Assembly Election: Mithun Chakraborty lately transferred his voting card to Kolkata.


The West Bengal BJP on Tuesday launched what might be its closing listing of candidates for the upcoming Assembly polls. It has 13 names – however no Mithun Chakraborty. From Rashbehari, the seat many believed was reserved for the ‘Dada’ of Bengali cinema, the celebration has fielded retired Lieutenant General Subrata Saha, who was answerable for Kashmir throughout essential years. BJP sources had earlier mentioned that the distinguished south Kolkata seat was being saved open for the actor ever since he shared the dais with Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the BJP’s mega Brigade Parade Ground rally in Kolkata on March 7.  

That’s additionally the place the actor delivered his fashionable line from the Bengali movie MLA Fatakeshto: “I will hit you here and your body will land at the crematorium.” He additionally delivered a brand new election line that day: “I am not a harmless water snake or a harmless desert snake. I am a pure cobra. With one strike, I will turn you into a photograph.” All this to a rousing reception.  

On high of it, in current weeks, he had additionally enlisted as a voter in Kolkata, transferring his voting card from Mumbai. For the second, although, hopes of him contesting the polls have been dashed. However, there’s nothing to cease him from being fielded later, changing an present candidate. The polls in Bengal are, in spite of everything, scheduled throughout eight phases and the final date of nomination for closing part comes round mid-April.  

In some comfort for his followers, Mr Chakraborty is scheduled to marketing campaign in Nandigram on March 30 for Suvendu Adhikari. Union Home Minister Amit Shah is prone to be current at that roadshow.  

Meanwhile, former Chief Economic Advisor Ashok Lahiri, fielded earlier from Alipurduar in North Bengal after which changed, is again as candidate from Balurghat.

A key change within the listing printed pertains to Gaighata in North 24 Parganas district the place the brand new candidate is Subrata Thakur. He is the brother of Shantanu Thakur, the BJP MP representing the Matua neighborhood, believed to be upset with the celebration for failing to implement the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) and lifting the uncertainty over their citizenship.

It was additionally mentioned to be upset over no Matua member being fielded within the 30-40 seats the place they maintain the deciding vote. Mr Thakur is reported to have met with Mr Shah yesterday, after which the celebration determined to call his brother for Gaighata.

Names have additionally been modified for Chowringhee and Kashipore-Belgachia, the place these listed earlier had protested saying that they had by no means agreed to change into the celebration’s candidates. Shikha Mitra, the previous Trinamool MLA from Chowringhee and the spouse of the late Congress chief Somen Mitra, was livid at being named with out her consent. The unique candidate named by the BJP for Kashipore-Belgachia turned out to be an energetic Trinamool member.

Three candidates have been named for Darjeeling, Kurseong, and Kalimpong. The Darjeeling Lok Sabha seat is held by the BJP’s Raju Bishta. In the previous, the celebration had allied within the hills with the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha. This time, although, all factions of the Morcha are with the Trinamool. The BJP has, therefore, needed to file its personal candidates there for the primary time.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this: