Press "Enter" to skip to content

Mamata Banerjee, Amit Shah’s Rallies In Same Bengal District Today

Election to the 294-member Bengal Assembly is predicted in April-May this yr. (FILE)


A head-to-head political battle will play out on Thursday in Kolkata neighbouring South 24 Parganas district the place Home Minister Amit Shah and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee are scheduled to handle impartial rallies separated by a long way.

For the primary time within the excessive octane political season in poll-bound West Bengal, Ms Banerjee and Mr Shah will likely be holding rallies in the identical district and kind of on the similar time within the afternoon.

Mr Shah is scheduled to reach in Bengal tonight on a two-day go to ranging from Thursday.

He is scheduled to go to Kakdwip space close to Sagar Island in South 24 Parganas district, the place he’ll flag off the ultimate leg of the 5 phases Rath Yatra of the BJP within the state.

“He will arrive in Kolkata tonight. On Thursday he will visit Kapil Muni Ashram. From there he will go to Namkhana where he will address Poribartan yatra,” a senior state BJP chief mentioned Wednesday.

Mr Shah can also be scheduled to have lunch on the residence of a migrant labourer and later participate in a roadshow, he mentioned.

Meanwhile, Mr Banerjee and his nephew Abhishek Banerjee, who can also be native get together MP, is slated to handle get together staff assembly at Pailan in South 24 Parganas on Thursday.


“It will be a politically important day tomorrow. Both Mr Shah and Didi will address rallies in the same district,” a senior South 24 Parganas TMC chief mentioned.

After having a restricted presence within the politically polarised Bengal for many years, BJP has emerged as the principle rival of the ruling Trinamool Congress by profitable 18 of the 42

Lok Sabha seats within the state in 2019 common elections, solely 4 lower than the TMC tally of 22.

With the BJP’s energy rising within the state in the previous few years, its leaders are upbeat that the get together will have the ability to finish Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s 10-year rule within the state polls.

Election to the 294-member state Assembly is predicted in April-May this yr.

(This story has not been edited by NDTV workers and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this: