Press "Enter" to skip to content

Maharashtra Ruling Alliance Releases Candidates List For Council Polls

Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena will solely contest on one seat within the upcoming elections.

Mumbai (Maharashtra):

The ruling Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi (MVA) has launched an inventory of all 5 candidates for the December 1 biennial election to 5 graduates’ and lecturers’ constituencies of the State Legislative Council.

Nationalist Congress Party and Congress of the Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi (MVA) will contest on two seats every, whereas Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena will solely contest on one seat within the upcoming Legislative Council elections.

Shiv Sena’s Shrikant Deshpande has been chosen to combat for the Amravati area instructor’s constituency, whereas NCP’s Arun Lad and Satish Chavan will contest from Pune and Aurangabad graduate constituencies respectively. Congress’ Jayant Asgaonkar and Abhijit Vanjari have been fielded from the Pune lecturers constituency and Nagpur graduate constituency respectively.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) had on November 2 declared polls for 5 seats of the Maharashtra Legislative Council, which have been vacant since July 19 after the completion of the time period of the sitting members.


The elections can be held between eight am and 5 pm on December 1 and counting of votes will happen on December 3, the ED had introduced.

The 5 seats are being vacated by Chavan Satish Bhanudasrao, Chandrakant Bachhu Patil, Anil Madhukar Sole, Shrikant Deshpande, and Dattatraya Achyutrao Sawant. 

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this: