Press "Enter" to skip to content

Maharashtra Lead with 9 Gold, Haryana in Close Second

The battle for supremacy within the Khelo India Youth Games 2021 started in proper earnest, with defending champions Maharashtra surging into the lead early within the morning with 9 gold medals on Sunday.

But by late night, hosts Haryana clawed again into the race, selecting up a complete of 6 gold to take the second place. They have already garnered essentially the most variety of medals although, capturing 23 (5 gold, 6 silver, 12 bronze) to Maharashtra’s 17 (9 gold, four silver, four bronze).

On a day filled with motion and thrilling twists and turns, two new youth nationwide data had been additionally created in weightlifting.

Maharashtra expectedly bagged Three out of four gold on provide in weightlifting, and likewise Three in yoga and 1 in biking whereas Haryana underlined their dominance on the wrestling mat, gobbling up all 5 gold up for grabs, and 1 in biking.

Manipur shot to the third place within the medals tally, annexing four gold medals in Thang-ta, an indigenous sport added to the Khelo India program for the primary time.

Maharashtra’s Kajol Sargar (ladies’s 40kg) pocketed the primary medal of the Games, lifting a complete of 113 kg (50kg in snatch and 63 in Clean and Jerk). Her state-mate Harshada Garud then rewrote the Youth National Record within the ladies’s 45kg class as she overcame a stiff problem from Uttar Pradesh’s Anjali Patel.

With each lifting 80kg in clear and jerk, all of it boiled right down to their third and ultimate elevate. Garud lifted 83 kg in her second try itself to etch her identify within the file books whereas Anjali failed even in her third.

Earlier, L Dhanush of Tamil Nadu bagged the Boys 49kg gold medal with a brand new Snatch file of 88 and an general elevate of 190 kg.

Haryana started their medal cost on the biking velodrome in Delhi as Vrinda Yadav bagged the gold medal within the Girls 7.5kg Scratch Race.

The hosts had been banking on making a clear sweep of gold medals on the wrestling mat and Ronit Sharma didn’t disappoint, opening their account within the Boys Greco-Roman 51 kg class when he defeated state-mate Rahul.

Sahil Jaglan scored a convincing 10-Zero win over Robinpreet Singh of Punjab within the Freestyle 92 kg.

Jyoti accomplished the clear sweep by defeating Maharashtra’s Pragati Gaikwad by technical superiority within the Girl’s 57kg weight class.

Action continued in kabaddi, hockey, volleyball, gymnastics and badminton.




92kg Freestyle: 1. Sahil Jaglan (Haryana), 2. Robinpreet Singh (Punjab), 3. Manish (Delhi), 3. Deepak Chahal (Delhi)

51kg Greco Roman: 1. Ronit Sharma (Haryana), 2. Rahul (Haryana), 3. Kapil Dalal (Haryana), 3. Davinder Singh (Punjab)

60kg Greco Roman: 1. Ankit (Haryana), 2. Ashish Mor (Haryana), 3. Varun (Delhi), 3. Ravi Kumar (Haryana)


46kg: 1. Tannu (Haryana), 2. Sneha (Haryana), 3. Gauri (Maharashtra), 3. Anshika Khoker (Uttar Pradesh)

57kg: 1. Jyoti (Haryana), 2. Pragati Gaikwad (Maharashtra), 3. Anjali (Haryana), 3. Dhanashri Fand (Maharashtra)


Boys 55kg

1. Mukund Aher (Maharashtra), 2. Chera Tania (Arunachal Pradesh), 3. Raja Bharti (Chhattisgarh)

Boys – 49kg

1. L. Dhanush (Tamil Nadu) *NR, 2. D. Veeresh (Andhra Pradesh), 3. Vaibhav Swami (Uttar Pradesh)

Girls – 45kg

1. Harshada Garud (Maharashtra) NR*, 2. Anjali Patel (Uttar Pradesh), 3. Vani Puri (Punjab)

Girls – 40kg

1. Kajol Sargar (Maharashtra), 2. Sandiya Gungli (Arunachal Pradesh), 3. Rekhamoni Gogoi (Assam)

Girls 49 kg: 1. Gyaneshwari Yadav (Chhattisgarh), 2. V. Rithika (Tamil Nadu), 3. V. Madhumitha (Pondicherry)



10 kms Scratch Race: 1. Mahendra Saran (Rajasthan), 2. Adwaith Sankar (Kerala), 3. Ravi Singh (Haryana)

1 KM Time Trial: 1. Sampath Pasmel (Karnataka), 2. Warishdeep Singh (Punjab), 3. Niraj Kumar (Haryana)

Team Sprint:  1. Rajasthan, 2. Manipur, 3. Punjab


7.5 kms Scratch Race: 1. Vrinda Yadav (Haryana), 2. Pooja Danole (Maharashtra), 3. Reet Kapoor (Chandigarh)

500 Mtrs Time Trial: 1. Sadnya Kokate (Maharashtra), 2. Celestina (Andaman & Nicobar), 3. Kavita (Haryana)

Team Sprint: 1. Andaman & Nicobar, 2. Maharashtra, 3. Haryana



Traditional (Individual)

Sumit Dilip Bandale (Maharashtra), 2. Rajdeep Dalal (West Bengal), 3. Deepanshu (Haryana)

Artistic (Pair)

1. Aryan Kharat, Nibodh Patil (Maharashtra), 2. Sayan Debnath, Avarjit Saha (West Bengal), 3. Sagar Ranga, Jeetu (Haryana)

Rhythmic (Pair)

1. Nanak Abhang, Ansh Mayekar (Maharashtra), 2. Kavikumar, Abinesh Kumar B. (Tamil Nadu), 3. Gourav, Parbhat Kumar (Haryana)


Artistic (Pair)

Vaidehi Mayekar, Yuganka Rajam (Maharashtra), 2. Shreya Bhattacharjee, Naisha Sarkar (Jharkhand), 3. Dharshini M., Oviyea C. (Tamil Nadu)

Traditional (Individual)

1. Aranya Hutait (West Bengal), 2. Tanvi Redij (Maharashtra), 3. Manvi Vyas (Haryana)

Read all of the Latest News , Breaking News and IPL 2022 Live Updates right here.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this: