Press "Enter" to skip to content

Lurinjyoti Gogoi’s Party Announces 1st List Of Candidates For Assam Assembly Polls

Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) introduced the names of 18 candidates for the primary section.


The newly-formed Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) on Friday introduced the names of 18 candidates for the primary section of meeting elections with its president Lurinjyoti Gogoi contesting from the oil city of Duliajan.

AJP’s common secretary Jagadish Bhuyan will contest from Sadiya, whereas its alliance companion Raijor Dal continues to be holding discussions on nominations and will announce its checklist on Saturday.

Addressing a press convention, Mr Gogoi and Mr Bhuyan mentioned the checklist of candidates for the remaining phases can be introduced later.

AJP, which was shaped by AASU and Asom Jatiyatabadi Yuba Chatra Parishad (AJYCP) following the anti-CAA protests, fielded Raju Phukan from Sarupathar, Chittaranjan Basumatar from Dhemaji, Pawan Saikia from Khumtai, Shatrughan Sasoni from Dhekiajuli and Ajay Tanti from Rangapara.

In central Assam, the occasion nominated Anjar Hussain from Dhing and Arup Kumar Saikia from Batadroba.

AJP introduced the names of Anand Chandra Das from Dergaon, Ribulya Gogoi from Nazira, Dipen Tanti from Thowra, Achyut Saikia from Bihpuria, Ajit Buragohain from Dibrugarh, Rajiv Kumar Hazarika from Mariani, Shamsher Singh from Tinsukia, Satyajit Regon from Dhakuakhana and Sanjay Kumar Deb from Margherita.

Polls within the state can be held in three phases, beginning with elections to 47 constituencies unfold throughout eleven districts of Upper Assam, North Bank and elements of central Assam on March 27.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this: