Press "Enter" to skip to content

Key Portfolios Go To New Ministers In BS Yediyurappa’s Cabinet

Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa at the moment allotted portfolios to the seven newly inducted ministers. (File)


Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa at the moment distributed portfolios to the seven new ministers who took oath final week — virtually a year-and-a-half after he took over the state’s prime publish for a 3rd time. There are actually 33 ministers within the cupboard, whose complete energy is 34 — H Nagesh, who was holding the Excise portfolio, resigned.

Among the 5 new ministers inducted within the cupboard, Umesh Katti has been given cost of Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs whereas S Angara has been given Fisheries, Ports and Inland Transport.

MTB Nagaraj would be the Excise Minister and CP Yogeshwar might be in command of the Minor Irrigation division.

R Shankar has been given Municipal Administration and Sericulture division. Murugesh Nirani has acquired the Mines and Geology portfolio and Arvind Limbavali has been given the Forest Department.

In a key change, JC Madhuswamy has been divested of Law, Parliamentary Affairs, Legislation and Minor Irrigation portfolios and allotted Medical Education, Kannada and Culture departments.

The Law, Parliamentary Affairs and Legislation Ministry has been given to Home Minister Basavaraj Bommai as extra cost.


Three of the brand new ministers — Umesh Katti, Arvind Limbavali and Murugesh Nirani — are loyalists of Mr Yeddyurappa. The inclusion of S Angara is seen as the selection of the Central management.

There can be MTB Nagaraj, the extraordinarily wealthy MLA, who’s seen as being rewarded for crossing over from the Congress. Mr Nagaraj had misplaced the by-election to his outdated seat of Hoskote, however was made a member of the legislative council.

R Shankar — also known as “Pendulum Shankar” for his frequent shifts in loyalty — was an unbiased who was made minister within the earlier Congress-JDS coalition authorities simply earlier than it collapsed.

Mr Nagaraj, CP Yogeshwar – a former Congressman – and Mr Shankar, are among the many 5 members of the Legislative Council who are actually within the cupboard.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this: