Press "Enter" to skip to content

Jason Holder Rested; Andre Russell and Shimron Hetmyer Unavailable As West Indies Name Squad For Pakistan Tour

The Cricket West Indies (CWI) choice panel has introduced the squads for the West Indies Men’s group tour of Pakistan. The sequence will characteristic three ODIs and as many T20Is from December 13 to 22 on the National Stadium in Karachi. Jason Holder is rested for this tour attributable to workload administration whereas Fabian Allen and Obed McCoy are unavailable attributable to harm and rehabilitation.

“Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Russell and Lendl Simmons are unavailable due to personal reasons,” CWI mentioned in an announcement.

The panel named various uncapped gamers in each codecs. For the ODIs, the newcomers are batters Justin Greaves, Shamarh Brooks, left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie and fast-bowling allrounder Odean Smith.

“Justin Greaves is a very talented player, had a good CG Insurance Super50 tournament and performed well in the President’s XI match against Ireland in 2020,” Lead Selector, Roger Harper mentioned in an announcement.

“Odean Smith really grabbed our attention in the last CPL. His pace was never in question, however he has added greater control and has displayed the ability to be a wicket-taker,” he added.

Smith and Motie are additionally chosen within the T20I squad for the primary time, together with left-arm fast-bowling allrounder Dominic Drakes.

“Shamarh Brooks batted well in the CG Insurance Super50 Cup and followed that up with good performances in the CPL. He will lend greater depth to the batting line-up,” mentioned Harper

“Gudakesh Motie has been rewarded for his outstanding performance in the CG Insurance Super50, followed up by his showing in the CPL. Dominic Drakes has the potential to be an outstanding all-rounder as he displayed during the last CPL,” he added.

The ODI Series will likely be West Indies fourth sequence of 12 within the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League through which the highest seven groups can safe computerized qualification for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India.

West Indies at present lie in eighth place out of 13 groups and have the chance to maneuver above Pakistan into seventh place.


West Indies ODI squad: Kieron Pollard (Captain), Shai Hope (Vice Captain), Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Nicholas Pooran, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.

West Indies T20I squad: Kieron Pollard (Captain), Nicholas Pooran (Vice Captain), Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Topics talked about on this article

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *