Press "Enter" to skip to content

Inauguration: Trump could be solely 4th president to boycott successor’s set up

If he follows by means of, he’ll develop into solely the fourth president to boycott his successor’s repeatedly scheduled inauguration and the primary in additional than 150 years to take action.

Two different presidents missed their successors’ repeatedly scheduled swearings-in, Martin Van Buren and Woodrow Wilson. The purpose for Van Buren’s absence is unknown however not seen as malicious by historians, whereas Wilson’s was for well being causes.

Richard Nixon didn’t attend Gerald Ford’s inauguration on the White House after Nixon resigned in the course of his second time period in August 1974.

CNN has reached out to a number of presidential historians to present context to this uncommon prevalence.

Three presidents are identified to have boycotted their successors’ repeatedly scheduled inaugurations, as Thomas Balcerski, affiliate professor of historical past at Eastern Connecticut State University, wrote for
  • John Adams did not attend Thomas Jefferson’s inauguration in 1801.
  • John Quincy Adams did not attend Andrew Jackson’s inauguration in 1829.
  • Andrew Johnson did not attend Ulysses S. Grant’s inauguration in 1869.

Barbara Perry, director of presidential research on the University of Virginia’s Miller Center, informed CNN the refusal to attend a successor’s inauguration was an “unfortunate precedent set by Adams, not copied again until his son did it in 1829.”

For each John Quincy Adams and Andrew Johnson, the political panorama was outlined by an “unusual amount of enmity” between the events, in response to Elaine Kamarck, senior fellow within the Governance Studies program on the Brookings Institution.

Other outgoing presidents have been identified to overlook half or all their successors’ inaugurations.

Van Buren did not attend William Henry Harrison’s inauguration in 1841. Balcerski informed CNN that some accounts have Van Buren using in a separate carriage behind Harrison to the Capitol and historians do not know why Van Buren skipped the occasion. Richard Mentor Johnson, Van Buren’s vp, did attend.

In 1921, outgoing President Wilson, who was struggling the consequences of a stroke, rode along with his successor, Warren G. Harding, however didn’t keep for the occasion.

Andrew Phillips, the curator and director of museum operations on the Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library, informed CNN that Wilson knowledgeable his successor that he wouldn’t attend as a result of the steps to the platform have been too steep for him. “He made a joke about it, saying, ‘The Senate threw me down before, and I don’t want to fall down myself now,'” Phillips informed CNN, a reference to the Senate defeat of the League of Nations plan and the Treaty of Versailles.

Phillips added that the Washington Herald reported on the time that “for the first time in a century the outgoing President did not witness the installation of the incoming executive.”

After Nixon resigned, he left Washington about an hour earlier than Ford took the oath of workplace on the White House.

Perry informed CNN that though Nixon wasn’t on the swearing-in ceremony, Ford’s farewell to him illustrated the “symbolism of a peaceful transfer of power, even under the direst of circumstances,” the resignation of a president.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this: