Press "Enter" to skip to content

ICC Women’s World Cup: How A No-Ball Cost India Dear In Gut-Wrenching Loss To South Africa. Watch

A nail-biter in Hagley Oval, Christchurch noticed Team India crashing out of the continued ICC Women’s World Cup and the gamers have been left visibly distraught. Team India confirmed nice grit and preventing spirit and managed to make a sport out of it. Defending 275, Team India have been in a spot of hassle after Lara Goodall and Laura Wolvaardt put South Africa nicely on their method within the chase. But Indian spinners — Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad and Harmanpreet Kaur bowled in tandem and have been in a position to create stress on South Africa to take the match proper all the way down to the wire.

In the ultimate over, South Africa wanted seven runs and Mignon du Preez and Shabnim Ismail have been on the crease. Eventually, the equation got here down to 3 off two balls.

On the penultimate supply, Du Preez was dismissed by Deepti because the batter handed a easy catch to Harmanpreet Kaur at long-on.

However, ecstasy changed into pure horror for the Indian gamers because the umpire signalled a no-ball. Replays confirmed that Deepti Sharma had overstepped by the barest of margins, which meant that Du Preez got here again to the center with South Africa needing 2 runs to win off the ultimate 2 balls.

Du Preez hit the profitable runs to interrupt Indian hearts.

Watch the no-ball that doubtlessly price India the match in opposition to South Africa

Mignon du Preez remained unbeaten on 52 for South Africa. Laura Wolvaardt additionally performed a knock of 80 and she or he set the tone early for the Proteas. For India, Rajeshwari Gayakwad returned with two wickets.

In the tip, after the match acquired over, the Indian gamers have been visibly distraught. Team India completed their World Cup marketing campaign with three wins from seven matches.


Earlier, India posted 274/7 within the allotted 50 overs after Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj all registered half-centuries.

Australia, South Africa, England and West Indies are the 4 groups which have certified for the semi-finals of the continued event. Australia will sq. off in opposition to West Indies on Wednesday whereas South Africa tackle England on Thursday.

Topics talked about on this article

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *