Press "Enter" to skip to content

Counting For 1st Phase To Begin Today



Jharkhand Panchayat Polls: The counting for the first section will begin from eight am at the moment. (Representational)


Counting of votes for the primary section of the panchayat elections in Jharkhand will begin on Tuesday amid tight safety, an official mentioned.

The first of the four-phase panchayat polls occurred on May 14. Over 68 per cent of the 52 lakh voters exercised their franchise.

A complete of 1,127 panchayats overlaying 72 blocks in 21 districts of the state went to the polls within the first section. Panchayat elections within the state usually are not held on celebration strains.

SEC secretary Radhe Shyam Prasad mentioned, “The counting for the first phase (of the elections) will start from 8 am on Tuesday. It will continue till the evening.” As the polling was performed in poll papers, it is going to take time to declare the ultimate outcomes, the official mentioned.

In the primary section, elections had been scheduled to be held for 16,757 posts — 14,079 panchayat members, 1,127 mukhiyas, 1,405 Panchayat Samiti members and 146 Zilla Parishad members.

However, a complete of 6,231 candidates have already been declared winners unopposed within the first section, as just one candidate was left in every of these posts after withdrawal and rejection of nomination papers.

So, the elections had been held for 9,819 posts—7,303 panchayat members, 1,117 mukhiyas, 1,256 panchayat committee members and 143 Zilla Parishad members.

The different three phases of the elections shall be held on May 19, 24 and 27.

Meanwhile, re-polling in 26 cubicles throughout eight districts handed off peacefully on Monday with 59.14 per cent voter turnout, Prasad mentioned.

The SEC had acquired complaints concerning poll paper errors from a number of cubicles through the polling on Saturday.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV workers and is revealed from a syndicated feed.)

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this: