Press "Enter" to skip to content

Campaigning for bypolls of 5 Delhi municipal wards ends, voting on Sunday – India News , Firstpost

The bypolls are being seen because the semifinal forward of the civic physique elections for 272 wards of three municipal companies in early 2022

Representational picture. AFP

The campaigning for the by-elections of 5 municipal wards right here ended on Friday, with principal rivals AAP, the BJP and the Congress claiming wins within the bypolls to be held on Sunday.

Voting for the municipal bypolls will likely be helmed within the 5 wards from 7.30 am to five.30 pm. The outcomes will likely be introduced on 3 March, election officers stated.

The bypolls are being seen because the semifinal forward of the civic physique elections for 272 wards of three municipal companies in early 2022.

The AAP has claimed a clear sweep with get together convener and Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, throughout a roadshow in Seelampur, asserting that his get together can problem the BJP and termed the Congress its “B team”.

The BJP leaders, together with nationwide normal secretary Bhupendra Yadav, Delhi unit president Adesh Gupta, MPs Manoj Tiwari and Gautam Gambhir additionally attended roadshows on Friday.

The principal candidates within the by-elections are Dhirendra from the Aam Aadmi Party, Siyaram Kanojia from the BJP and Dharampal Maurya from the Congress within the Kalyanpuri ward.

Vijay Kumar from the AAP, Om Prakash Gugarwal from the BJP and Bal Kishan are contesting from Trilokpuri ward.

Former AAP MLA Haji Ishraq Khan is pitted in opposition to Chaudhary Zubair Ahmad of Congress and Nazir Ansari of BJP from Chauhan Bamgar ward.

All three wards are below the East Delhi Municipal Corporation. The AAP held these wards which had been vacated after sitting councillors contested the meeting polls final yr and have become MLAs.

From the Shalimarbagh north ward that fell vacant after the loss of life of BJP councilor, the competition is between Surbhi Jaju of BJP, Sunita Mishra of AAP and Mamta from the Congress.

The Rohini-C ward will witness a eager contest amongst former Bawana MLA Ramchandra from AAP, Rajesh Goyal from BJP and Mewati Barwala of the Congress.

The AAP and the BJP have been attacking one another over a variety of points together with corruption throughout the campaigning.

Senior AAP chief Raghav Chadha on Friday alleged that the BJP, ruling the three municipal companies, has turned town right into a heap of rubbish.

“People will end BJP’s corruption by ensuring the victory of AAP candidates with huge margins. The victory of AAP in the municipal election will speed up development as the party also rules in Delhi,” he stated at a press convention.

At a roadshow in Trilokpuri, senior BJP chief Bhupendra Yadav stated, “The Kejriwal government is running on advertisements and false promises. The defeat of AAP candidates is certain in the bypolls.”

Accompanying him, northeast Delhi MP Manoj Tiwari alleged that every one the three wards in EDMC the place AAP councillors had gained earlier had been in heaps of rubbish.
Delhi BJP president Adesh Gupta, collaborating in a Padyatra in Kalyanpuri, asserted that the get together will win all 5 wards.

The Congress leaders at a press convention appealed to Delhiites to vote for the get together candidates within the by-elections on Sunday.

People of Delhi are extending overwhelming assist to the Congress candidates within the public conferences, roadshows and ‘padayatras’, giving a transparent indication of which approach the wind is blowing,” claimed AICC incharge of get together’s Delhi unit Shakti Sinh Gohil.

“Delhiites feel betrayed and let-down by the BJP and the AAP, as they had hoped that these parties will create miracles, but got only disappointment,” he charged.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro at ₹499 for the primary yr. Use code PRO499. Limited interval supply. *T&C apply

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this: