Press "Enter" to skip to content

Ashok Gehlot Takes All Ministers’ Resignation Before Big Rajasthan Cabinet Reshuffle



Ashok Gehlot’s cupboard presently has 20 ministers and there’s room for 10 extra (File)

Five Sachin Pilot loyalists shall be among the many 30 ministers in Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot’s refreshed cupboard, it was revealed Saturday evening. Mr Gehlot’s new-look cupboard may even have 15 new faces, 4 of whom shall be junior ministers.

Here’s your 10-point cheatsheet to this huge story:

  1. Of the 5 MLAs loyal to former Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot – whose riot final 12 months virtually price the Congress its authorities – Hemaram Choudhary, Vishvendra Singh and Ramesh Meena shall be sworn in as ministers. Brijendra Singh Ola and Murari Lal Meena shall be sworn in as Ministers of State.

  2. Vishvendra Singh – a two-time MLA from Deeg-Kumher – and Ramesh Meena – the MLA from Sapotra – make a triumphant return to the Rajasthan cupboard after being sacked by Chief Minister Gehlot in July final 12 months, together with Sachin Pilot. Mr Singh held the Tourism and Devasthan ministries and Mr Meena the Food and Consumer Affairs departments. Hemaram Choudhary is a six-term MLA from Gudamalani, and former Revenue Minister.

  3. The different new faces shall be Mahendrajit Singh Malviya, Ramlal Jat, Mahesh Joshi, Mamta Bhupesh, Tikaram Julie, Bhajan Lal Jatav, Govind Ram Meghwal and Shakuntala Rawat. Zahida Khan and Rajendra Singh Gudha shall be made Ministers of State.

  4. It is unclear what position Sachin Pilot shall be given after the cupboard reshuffle. Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra reportedly need Mr Pilot to take cost of social gathering affairs in Gujarat, forward of elections in Prime Minister Modi’s house state subsequent 12 months. However, sources stated Mr Pilot stays centered on Rajasthan, the place he hopes to be made Chief Minister.

  5. The countdown to at this time’s reshuffle started with conferences between Mr Pilot and senior Congress leaders in Delhi, together with Mr Gandhi, Mrs Gandhi Vadra and social gathering chief Sonia Gandhi. Earlier this week Mr Pilot stated he wish to see a mixture of youth and expertise – within the authorities and social gathering management. Asked about his ambitions, he stated he would do what the social gathering requested.

  6. Meetings had been additionally held between Chief Minister Gehlot and the social gathering’s senior leaders. Mrs Gandhi Vadra was current at a gathering final week (Mr Gandhi was not) and the problem of a cupboard reshuffle and appointments to state firms was excessive on the agenda, sources stated.

  7. Mr Pilot – who led the riot towards Mr Gehlot – has been ready since then for the Chief Minister to accommodate his supporters in a revised cupboard. This was a part of the deal struck by the Congress to keep away from dropping one more state.

  8. Ahead of the announcement of the brand new names, three ministers set the ball rolling by submitting their resignations to Mr Gehlot. They had been Harish Chaudhary, Raghu Sharma and Govind Dotsara. All three held cupboard posts and had organizational duties.

  9. All three give up citing the Congress’ ‘ek pad, ek vyakti’, or ‘one place, one individual’, rule. Mr Chaudhary was Revenue minister and had been made party-in-charge for Punjab. Mr Sharma held a number of ministerial posts and had been made Gujarat-in-charge. Mr Dotasra was the Education Minister as nicely las the social gathering’s state unit chief.

  10. Sachin Pilot – seen as main the social gathering’s revival in Rajasthan – was a contender for the Chief Minister’s publish after the Congress’ 2018 win. But he was persuaded by Rahul Gandhi to take the job of Mr Gehlot’s deputy as an alternative. The friction has continued since, and exploded final 12 months after Mr Pilot and 18 MLAs broke ranks and camped out in Delhi.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this: